Zoom has released a new update, including highlights of the new enhancements created specifically for ensuring the security and privacy of their product. Note the updated features listed below: (taken from zoom’s update release notes)
Security Toolbar Icon for Hosts
- The meeting host will now have a Security option in their meeting controls, which exposes all of Zoom’s existing in-meeting security controls one place. This includes locking the meeting, enabling Waiting Room, and more. Users can also now enable Waiting Room in a meeting, even if the feature was not turned on before the start of the meeting. For more information, please visit this recently published Blog.
Invite Button on Meeting Client Toolbar
- The button to invite others to join your Zoom meeting is now available at the bottom of the Participants panel
Meeting ID No Longer Displayed
- The meeting ID will no longer be displayed in the title bar of the Zoom meeting window. The meeting ID can be found by clicking on Participants, then Invite or by clicking on the info icon at the top left of the client window.
Remove Attendee Attention Tracking Feature
- Zoom has removed the attendee attention tracker feature as part of our commitment to the security and privacy of our customers. For more background on this change and how we are pivoting during these unprecedented times, please see a note from our CEO, Eric S. Yuan
Removal of the Facebook SDK in our iOS client
- We have reconfigured the feature so that users will still be able to log in with Facebook via their browser
- The option to do third-party file transfers in Meeting and Chat was temporarily disabled. Local file transfer is available with our latest release. Third-party file transfers and clickable URLs in meeting chat will be added back in an upcoming release
New Join Flow for the Web client
- By default, users will now need to sign in to their Zoom account or create a Zoom account when joining a meeting with the Web client. This can be disabled by the Admin or the User from their settings page
Join Before Host Emails Disabled
- Notifications sent to the host via email when participants are waiting for the host to join the meeting have been disabled.
Setting to Allow Participants to Rename Themselves
- Account admins and hosts can now disable the ability for participants to rename themselves in any meeting. This setting is available at the account, group, and user level in the Web portal.
Please be sure to update to zoom’s latest release to take advantage of these new features. We also highly encourage you to register for their webinar to get an overview of this latest release and subscribe to their Blog for more information and resources in the days to come.
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Information Services at firstname.lastname@example.org or (310) 506-7425.